AFCON draw: Seeded Eagles may face Ghana, Ivory Coast

The Super Eagles are in Pot 1 where the top seeded teams have been placed for the draw ceremony of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations. The event is scheduled for Cairo, Egypt on Friday.

In Pot 1 for the draw with Nigeria are Egypt (hosts), Cameroon (defending champions), Morocco, Tunisia and Senegal. The seeding was based on their top placing in the last FIFA World Ranking done for the month of April.

The draw arrangement appears challenging for the Eagles, going by the draw procedures released by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) on Thursday.

Eagles face the prospect of being placed in the same group as either Ghana or Ivory Coast or both countries that are in Pot 2. The other Pot 2 teams are Democratic Republic of Congo, Algeria, Guinea and Mali.

Pot C has South Africa Uganda, Benin, Mauritania, Madagascar and Kenya.

Tanzania, managed by former Nigeria winger Emmanuel Amuneke, with Zimbabwe, Namibia, Guinea Bissau, Angola and Burundi are placed in Pot D.

Nigeria had failed to qualify for the last two editions of the tournament. Eagles’ last appeared at the AFCON finals in 2013 in South Africa and won the title after beating Burkina Faso 1-0 in the final courtesy of Sunday Mba’s first half strike.

The draw ceremony which will hold at Gaza, near Cairo will kick-off at 7pm Nigerian time on Friday.


Pot 1: Egypt, Cameroon, , Senegal, Tunisia, Nigeria, Morocco

Pot 2: Ghana, CIV, Algeria, Guinea, Mali, DR Congo

Pot 3: South Africa, Uganda, Benin, Mauritania, Madagascar, Kenya

Pot 4: Zimbabwe, Namibia, Guinea Bissau, Angola, Tanzania, Burundi