Amaju Pinnick returns as NFF President

Pius Ayinor

Amaju Pinnick has been re-elected as the President of the Nigeria Football Federation, reports. In an election held on Thursday in Katsina, the FA boss swept to 34 votes as against his closest rival Aminu Maigari who got 8 and a former FA General Secretary, Taiwo Ogunjobi got 2. The fourth candidate Chinedu Okoye got no vote.

Maigari was the FA who handed over to Pinnick in September 2014.

For the position of the First Vice President, Seyi Akinwunmi returned after beating his opponent Dele Ajayi by 41 votes to 2. One vote was voided.

Ahmed Yusuf ‘Fresh’ and Yahaya Kwande were also re-elected into the Executive Board as representatives of the North Central after a fierce battle that went three rounds before Ishola from Kwara State lost out.

Ibrahim Gusau also emerged winner for the post of chairman of Chairmen unopposed following the withdrawal of Ifeanyi Ubah of the IfeanyiUbah FC withdrew from the race. Votes were however still cast to confirm Gusau could get support of more than 50 per cent of the Elective Congress.

In all only two members of the old board did not return. Ajayi and former technical committee chairman Chris Green from the South-South zone failed.