CAF to announce new AFCON hosts, Pinnick off to Dakar

The Confederation of African Football, (CAF) is expected to announce the new host of the 2019 African Cup of Nations after its executive committee meeting scheduled for Dakar, Senegal on Monday, reports.

Morocco, Egypt and South Africa are the front runners to host the competition, which was originally scheduled to hold in Cameroon.

 Cameroon was stripped of the right to host the continental fiesta when it became obvious the country would not meet the requirements for hosting the event before the scheduled date. CAF also cited the security situation in the country, including the separatist activities of its Southern region, as a part of the reasons for withdrawing the hosting right from Cameroon.

 The Nigeria Football Federation President, Amaju Pinnick has arrived at the Senegalese capital for the meeting, which would also appraise preparations for the CAF awards scheduled for Tuesday.

 Pinnick, who returned to Nigeria from Ghana on Friday, left Lagos for Dakar on Sunday, where he will join CAF President, Ahmad Ahmad on a trip to the slave island of Goree.

 Ahmad arrived in Senegal on Saturday.

  Some major guests expected to attend the awards are Senegal’s President, Macky Sall; the president of Rwanda, Paul Kagame, and former World Footballer of the Year, President George Weah, of Liberia.       

  FIFA President, Gianni Infantino and Secretary General, Fatma Samoura are also among the guests for the gala night.

 Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang will compete to be named African Player of the Year.

 In the women category, Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala and Francesca Ordega will compete against South Africa’s Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana for the crown.

 Before the ceremony tomorrow, President Ahmad will hold a press conference on the Island of Goree, which is part of the UNESCO World Heritage. Later, he will watch a game to honour the memory of Jules Bocande at the Leopold Sedar Senghor Stadium, where Senegalese 2002 team will play against a team of CAF Legends.