Kiptum wins Lagos City Marathon again

Kenya’s Abraham Kiptum has defended his title by winning the 2017 edition of the Lagos City Marathon. He won the international category.

Kiptum, who won the 42.1 km race in 2016 in a time of 2 hours, 16 minutes, 21 seconds, broke his own record to win on Saturday, in a time of 2 hours, 15 minutes, 23 seconds.

Hosea Kipkemboi also of Kenya finished second and Ethiopia’s Debebe Tolosa in third place and they got $40,000 and $30,000 respectively.

Kiptum won the $50,000 prize for the first finisher presented to him by the Governor of Lagos State, Akinwumi Ambode, and Access Bank Managing Director, Hebert Wigwe.

Philip Sharabutu also defended the first Nigerian male title and Pam Iliya came second in the Nigerian male category.

In the women category Halima Hussein Kayo of Ethiopia was first while Kenya’s Alice Timbilil of Kenya followed. Aberash Feyase of Ethiopia won the third position.

At least 100,000 athletes from 27 countries, including Nigeria, registered for the race. It also featured around 64 elite athletes from 26 countries, 30 special athletes and 102 runners from Nigeria.

The race started at the National Stadium in Surulere and terminated at Eko Atlantic City on Victoria Island, Lagos.