Mikel, Moses nominated for Nigeria Pitch Awards 2017/18

Super Eagles captain, Mikel Obi and Chelsea Victor Moses, were on Wednesday nominated for the Nigeria Pitch Awards for 2017/18.

Mikel currently plies his trade as a midfielder for Chinese club Tianjin TEDA.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the awards in its 5th edition will hold later in the month in Lagos.

Other nominees for the awards are Ikechukwu Ezenwa of FC IfeanyiUbah of Nnewi; Leon Balogun, FSV Mainz 05, Germany; Wilfred Ndidi – Leicester City; and Carl Ikeme of Wolverhampton Wanderers.

Dele Ajiboye of Plateau United of Jos; William Troost-Ekong of Bursaspor, Turkey; Shehu Abdullahi of Anothosis Famagusta FC; Anthony Okpotu – Lobi Stars of Makurdi; and Odion Ighalo – Changchun Yatai.

The rest are Stephen Odey – MFM FC/FC Zurich; Charity Rueben — Ibom Angels; Rasheedat Ajibade – FC Robo; and Amarachi Okonkwo – Nasarawa Amazons.

Fidelis Elechukwu of MFM FC; Gernot Rohr of Super Eagles; and Kennedy Boboye of Plateau United were nominated for the Coach of the Year Award.

Lagos, Rivers and Delta were nominated for State with the Best Grassroots Development programme.

Also, governors Godwin Obaseki of Edo, Emmanuel Udom of Akwa Ibom and Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos states were nominated for Football Friendly Governors of the Year.

Also for the Sam Okwaraji Award for Commitment to Nigerian Football, Amaju Pinnick, President, NFF, Shehu Dikko – 2nd Vice-President, NFF and Chief Ifeanyi Ubah, Chairman, FC Ifeanyi Ubah were equally nominated.

The President, Nigeria Pitch Award, Mr Shina Philips, said the awards had continued to grow to become a significant part of the football calendar in spite of challenges.

He noted that challenges such as securing sponsorship and partnership did not deterred the organisation’s resolve to make the awards an essential part of the nation’s football culture.

“The Nigeria Pitch Awards is a platform for recognising, rewarding and celebrating talented and industrious footballers and other stakeholders in Nigerian football.

“Since the introduction of the awards five years ago, it has continued to grow to become a significant and essential part of our football society,” he said.

Philips said that organising a credible and transparent reward system for Nigerian footballers and stakeholders would help youths to imbibe the culture of hard work, patriotism and honesty.

The president of the award added that he was grateful for all partners and all corporate bodies that had identified with the award since the project began.

“We thank the Federal Ministry of Sports and Nigeria Football Federation for their immense support.

“We thank SIAO Partners, Nigeria’s foremost accounting firm for being our independent vote collation body for displaying professionalism in the collation of results and the entire voting process.

“We are also buoyed by the responses we have received from sports journalists, Nigerian footballers and administrators,’’ he said.

Aisha Falode, Chairperson, Nigeria Women Football League congratulated the organisers of the award, saying that it would build the confidence of young people in the nation’s football.

“The Nigerian youths can be engaged through entertainment and sports with football being the most enticing when it comes to sports,’’ she said.

Falode urged sports journalists and stakeholders to support the award because of its credibility and assured that the awards get the necessary support to expand in scope.

Buri Olugbami, an official of SIAO Partners, said that SIAO recognised the potential of football and its impact in providing youth development. Olugbemi said that they would remain committed to all social and sport activities which would be strategic to youth development.



Nominations for the 2017/18

Goalkeeper of the Year

  1. Carl Ikeme – Wolverhampton Wanderers
  2. Ikechukwu Ezenwa – Ifeanyi Ubah FC
  3. Dele Ajiboye – Plateau United FC

Defender of the year

  1. Leon Balogun – FSV Mainz 05
  2. William Troost-Ekong – Bursapor FC
  3. Shehu Abdullahi – Anothosis Famagusta FC


  1. John Mikel Obi Tianjin Teda
  2. Wilfred Ndidi Leicester City FC
  3. Victor Moses Chelsea FC


  1. Victor Moses Chelsea FC
  2. Anthony Okpotu Lobi Stars FC
  3. Odion Ighalo Changchun Yatai


  1. Ikechukwu Ezenwa Ifeanyi Ubah FC
  2. Stephen Odey MFM FC/FC Zurich
  3. Anthony Okpotu Lobi Stars FC


  1. Charity Rueben Ibom Angels
  2. Rasheedat Ajibade FC Robo
  3. Amarachi Okonkwo Nasarawa Amazons


  1. Fidelis Elechukwu MFM FC
  2. Gernot Rohr Super Eagles
  3. Kennedy Boboye Plateau United


  1. Super Eagles
  2. Plateau United FC
  3. MFM FC


  1. Ferdinand Udoh
  2. Adebimpe Quadri
  3. Ogabor Joseph

State with the best grassroots development programme

  1. Lagos State
  2. Rivers State
  3. Delta State

Football friendly Governor of the year

  1. Godwin Obaseki – Edo State
  2. Emmanuel Udom – Akwa Ibom State
  3. Akinwunmi Ambode – Lagos State

SAM OKWARAJI award for commitment to nigerian football

  1. Shehu Dikko 2nd Vice President, NFF
  2. Amaju Melvin Pinnick – President, NFF
  3. Chief Ifeanyi Ubah – Chairman, Ifeanyi Ubah FC

Corporate sponsor

  1. Aiteo Group
  2. Nigerian Breweries plc
  3. Coca Cola plc


  1. Johnny Edwards – Complete Sports
  2. Tana Aiyejina – Punch Newspapers
  3. Olalekan Okusan – The Nation Newspapers

Football journalist of the year (RADIO)

  1. Godwin Enakhena – Top Radio FM
  2. Olawale Adigun – Top Radio FM
  3. Tony Bekederemo – Brila FM

Football journalist of the year (TV)

  1. Austin Okon-Akpan – Channels TV
  2. Godwin Enakhena  LTV/SportsSplash
  3. Mozez Praiz Supersport


  1. Rasheedat Ajibade – FC Robo
  2. Rueben Charity – Ibom Angels
  3. Asisat Oshoala – Dalian Quanjian


  1. Victor Moses – Chelsea FC
  2. Wilfred Ndidi – Leicester City FC
  3. John Mikel Obi – Tiajin Teda