Ministerial Implementation Committee on National Stadium, Lagos inaugurated

The Ministerial Committee to implement the recommendations of the Task Force earlier set up 9 June, 2020 by the Minister of Youth and Sports, Mr Sunday Dare has been inaugurated. The work is on the National Stadium in Lagos, reports.

The Committee which has its membership drawn from the ministry, Private Sector, stakeholders and the security services was inaugurated on Monday.

The Minister, in his remarks charged the Committee to hit the ground running as they would get all the support required to get the job done within eight weeks. He also stated that the job should commence immediately as he would be expecting progress report of the Committee’s work as from three weeks of its assignment.

The Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports, Mr Gabriel Aduda is the head of the Committee. The former AFN Technical Director, retired Navy Commodore Omatseye Nesiama was named as the Co-Chairman.

The Permanent Secretary asked his Co-Chair, Nesiama to respond on behalf of the team. The retired officer thanked the Minister for the confidence reposed in the members and assured him that they would work assiduously to deliver on the terms of reference handed down.

The National Stadium has been shut down since march essentially because of the Covid-19 pandemic and then for the rehabilitation process.

The Committee’s composition is as follows:

Mr Gabriel Aduda – Chairman.

Navy Comm Omatseye Nesiama (retd) – Co-Chair.

Engr O Okedairo

Engr AA Alanamu

Lucky Okonofua

Arc Biodun Owoborode

Bar Ernest Ezebilo

Mr Kehinde Owopetu

Mr Bode Durotoye

Mr Rotomi Alo

Mr Idris Olorunnibe

Representatives from the DSS, NPF and NSCDC