Moses, Oshoala win Aiteo/NFF awards


Chelsea wing-back Victor Moses late on Monday emerged as the first Aiteo/NFF Awards Player of the Year winner in an event held in Lagos.

The attacker got the coveted award ahead of his Super Eagles’ teammate Wilfred Ndidi and Lobi Stars forward Anthony Okpotu.

Reigning African Women’s Player of the Year Asisat Oshoala expectedly won the women’s version.

Enyimba’s Ikouwem Udoh beat Nura Mohammed and Stephen Odey to the Young Player of the Year for men. The women version which was announced ahead of the other awards was also expectedly won by Falconets striker Rasheedat Ajibade who beat Anam Imo and Gift Monday to win the Young Player of the Year.

Former Falcons goalkeeper Ann Chiejine won the Women’s Coach of the Year beating Edwin Okon and Whyte Ogbonna, while the Nigeria league champions Plateau United coach Kennedy Boboye got the Men’s Coach of the Year award ahead of Abdu Maikaba of Akwa United and MFM’s Fidelis Ilechukwu.

There slight technical mix up in the Goal of the Year award however when it cleared MFM’s Sikiru Olatunbosun won it while Remo Stars won the Fair Play award. The Development award was given to Channels Sports for their contribution to the development of the game at the grassroots.

The Platinum award was presented to FIFA President Gianni Infantino.

The Nigerian Legends 11 is made up of Chiejine, Felix Owolabi, Austin Eguavoen, Christian Chukwu, Uche Okechukwu, Nwankwo Kanu, Austin Okocha, Segun Odegbami, Adokiye Amiesimaka, Thompson Usiyen and Mercy Akide-Udoh.