Moses out, Salah, Mane make African Player final list

Nigeria and Chelsea star Victor Moses’ dream of being named the African Footballer of the Year for 2017, has gone with the wind after the Confederation of African Football announced the top-three shortlist on Monday, reports

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane made the cut decided by votes from the members of the CAF Media Committee, CAF Technical & Development Committee and half of the 20-member panel of experts. The Nigerian was gunning for his African award.

But while Moses is out, Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr is in the final list for the Coach of the Year. He has Hector Cuper (Egypt) and L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club) to beat.

In the Women’s Player of the Year category, reigning winner Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian) is running against Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies) and Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moscow).

National Team of the Year will be Cameroon, Egypt or Nigeria.

The winners will be decided by votes from the head coaches and Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF.

The Awards Gala will take place on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.


African Player of the Year

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)


Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)

Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & CSKA Moscow)


Youth Player of the Year

Krepin Diatta (Senegal & Sarpsborg)

Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)

Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)


Coach of the Year

Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

Hector Cuper (Egypt)

L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)


Club of the Year

Al Ahly

TP Mazembe

Wydad Athletic Club


National Team of the Year





Women’s National Team of the Year

Ghana U-20

Nigeria U-20

South Africa