NFF begins electoral process for 2018 elections

The Nigeria Football Federation Electoral Committee has begun work in preparation for the 2018 NFF Elections, scheduled for Saturday, 29th September 2018.

The federation confirmed on Monday that the Chairman of the committee, Barrister Mohammed Sani Katu and his members have already held a number of meetings with the objective of ensuring adequate preparedness of the panel for the task at hand. Katu told that guidelines and timelines would soon be rolled out in line with the provisions of the NFF Electoral Code.

He said, “We have started our work, with a number of meetings. The committee is committed to doing its work fully in line with the dictates of the Electoral Code and to ensure the best-ever NFF Elections come September.

“It is a huge responsibility that we have been saddled with but we are very much equal to the task and will ensure that we stage elections that the winners and the losers would be happy about.”

The members of the NFF Electoral Committee and the NFF Electoral Appeals Committee for the forthcoming elections were elected at the NFF General Assembly that held in Jos, Plateau State on Thursday, 19th October 2017. It was at one of its recent meetings that the electoral panel elected Sani Katu as its chairman.

Katu heads the electoral body that also has Mr. Sani Salawu, Barrister S. C. A. Umeha, Barrister Olusola Oke and Mr. Mohammed Manzo as members, while the NFF General Secretary, Dr. Mohammed Sanusi, is the secretary. Standby members are Hon. Isong Isang and Barrister Mohammed Aliyu Sambo.

Mr. I. U. Mustapha (Senior Advocate of Nigeria), who is also President of the CAF Appeals Panel, heads the NFF Electoral Appeals Committee, with Mojeed Adegbindin and Barrister Gbwen Alex Gbejule as members, and NFF Head of Legal Unit, Barrister Okey Obi, as secretary. Standby members are Sir Emma Ochiagha and Barrister Mohammed Zanna Mala.