NFF Elections: Aspirants to pick up forms from Monday

Those aspiring for seats on the Executive Committee of Nigeria Football Federation can begin to actually get ready as sale of forms will begin on Monday, May 21.

At a press conference in Abuja on Wednesday, the NFF Electoral Committee headed by Barrister Mohammed Sani Katu disclosed that sale of forms, endorsements of the same and return of the forms will hold between the period Monday, 21st May and Monday, 4th June. This is as far as the process will go before the Russia 2018 FIFA World Cup finals, at which Nigeria’s Super Eagles is one of the 32 participating teams.

The Committee confirmed that screening of candidates will take place between Thursday, 19th July and Saturday, 21st July 2018 – after the FIFA World Cup finals. Names of successful candidates will be released two days after the last day of screening which is Monday, 23rd July.

Unsuccessful candidates would be able to file their protests/appeals between Tuesday, 24th July and Thursday, 26th July, while the same will be heard on Friday, 27th July and Saturday, 28th July.

Final list of candidates for the elections will be made public on Monday, 30th July 2018, with the elections to hold on Saturday, 29th September 2018. This, according to Katu, would be subject to approval by the Congress of Nigeria Football Federation and any amendments to the NFF Statutes 2010, in view of the NFF Bill that is in process.

The members of the NFF Electoral Committee and the NFF Electoral Appeals Committee for the forthcoming elections were elected at the NFF General Assembly that held in Jos, Plateau State on Thursday, 19th October 2017. It was at one of its recent meetings that the electoral panel elected Sani Katu as its chairman.

Katu heads the electoral body that also has Mr. Sani Salawu, Barrister S. C. A. Umeha, Barrister Olusola Oke and Mr. Mohammed Manzo as members, while the NFF General Secretary, Dr. Mohammed Sanusi, is the secretary. Standby members are Hon. Isong Isang and Barrister Mohammed Aliyu Sambo.

A. U. Mustapha (Senior Advocate of Nigeria), who is also President of the CAF Appeals Panel, heads the NFF Electoral Appeals Committee, with Mr. Mojeed Adegbindin and Barrister Gbwen Alex Gbejule as members, and NFF Head of Legal Unit, Barrister Okey Obi, as secretary. Standby members are Sir Emma Ochiagha and Barrister Mohammed Zanna Mala.