Rohr lists Moses, Osimhen for Senegal, Burkina Faso

Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr on Wednesday released a 25-man list for the international friendly matches against Senegal and Burkina Faso, scheduled to hold in London later this month. The list has Chelsea’s Victor Moses who renewed his contract with the Stamford Bridge team also on Wednesday; Ogenyi Onazi and forwards Ahmed Musa and Kelechi Iheanacho. Youngster Victor Osimhen, who is a record top scorer at the FIFA U17 World Cup, returns to the team, reports.

Germany-based forward Noah Joel Bazee and Holland-based defender Tyronne Ebuehi will join up with the squad for the first time.

Goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa is the only home-based player in the team. Defenders Leon Balogun and William Ekong, Wilfred Ndidi and Oghenekaro Etebo and forwards Alex Iwobi and Moses Simon, were among names penciled down by the German for the international friendlies.

Experienced left back Elderson Echiejile, Portugal-based Chidozie Awaziem, Israel-based John Ogu and Watford FC of England forward Isaac Success are also called.

The Eagles will be up against Senegal’s Teranga Lions on Thursday, March 23 before taking on the Etalons of Burkina Faso four days later. Both matches will be played at the Hive, home ground of Barnet Football Club.

The friendly matches are to prepare the team for the Africa Cup of Nations and FIFA World Cup qualifiers coming up later in the year.


Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Paul Ekong (KAA Gent, Belgium); Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Uche Henry Agbo (Granada FC, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Musa Muhammed (FC Zeljeznicar, Bosnia Herzegovina); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Gijon, Spain); Kingsley Madu (Zulte Waregem, Belgium); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Noah Joel Bazee (Hannover 96, Germany); Victor Osimhen (Wolfsburg FC, Germany)