Super Eagles arrive in Austria without Aina, Agu

Nigeria’s World Cup squad arrived and settled down at the Avita Resort in Bad Tatzmannsdorf, Austria on Sunday evening, as Coach Gernot Rohr and his players intensified the final phase of preparation for Russia 2018, reports

Earlier on Sunday, Rohr cut the team to 23 players dropping defender Ola Aina and midfielder Mikel Agu from the 25 in camp, for a final list 24 hours ahead of FIFA’s deadline for the submission of the team list.

An all-executive-seats chartered jet arranged by the Nigeria Football Federation flew the Nigerian delegation, led by the NFF 2nd Vice President/Chairman of Strategy Committee, Shehu Dikko, to the Austrian capital (Vienna), and the group then travelled by road to Bad Tatzmannsdorf.

On Wednesday, the Eagles will travel the short distance back to Vienna, where they take on the Czech Republic at the Rudolf Tonn Stadium in the three-time African champions’ final pre-World Cup friendly.

Apart from the 23 players, Rohr has for company in camp, assistant coaches Salisu Yusuf, Jean-Luc Royer, Imama Amapakabo, Alloy Agu, Enrico Pionetti and Bernard Gines. There are also Dayo Enebi Achor (Team Administrator), Ibrahim Gyaran (Team Doctor), Hassan Suleiman (Physiotherapist), Pascal Patrick (Team Coordinator) and Toyin Ibitoye (Media Officer)

The Embassy of Austria in Nigeria last week denied the lead physiotherapist Nnaemeka Anozie and Equipment Manager, Chidi Ngoka entry visas into that country. understands that the Nigeria Football Federation has approached the Embassy of Austria in London with fresh applications for Ngoka and Anozie, and there is hope they could join the team in a couple of days.

Nigeria’s 2018 World Cup squad

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho; Daniel Akpeyi; Ikechukwu Ezenwa

Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu; Tyronne Ebuehi; William Ekong; Leon Balogun; Chidozie Awaziem; Elderson Echiejile; Kenneth Omeruo; Bryan Idowu

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi; Mikel John Obi; Ogenyi Onazi; John Ogu; Oghenekaro Etebo; Joel Obi

Forwards: Odion Ighalo; Simeon Nwankwo; Alex Iwobi; Ahmed Musa; Kelechi Iheanacho.