U20 World Cup: Nigeria omits Villarreal’s Chukwueze

Villareal’s Samuel Chukwueze will not be in Poland with Nigeria for the FIFA U20 World Cup after the country named a 21-man squad for the event without the striker being list, Extrasportsnigeria.com reports.

As earlier reported on this platform Chukwueze has been omitted clearing the way for him to play for the Super Eagles at the Africa Cup of Nations.

But there were some other fresh inclusions. A former England youth international, Tom Dele-Bashiru of Manchester City and Bournemouth midfielder Nnamdi Ofoborh made the squad.

Coach Paul Aigbogun kept faith with ten members of the squad that helped Nigeria qualify for the World Cup by reaching the semi-finals at February’s Under-20 Africa Cup of Nations in Niger.

Aigbogun spoke to the players over dinner at their Bad Goegging, Germany training camp on Monday where he unveiled the list.

The announcement by Aigbogun comes less than 24 hours before the team tackles Austrian club, Red Bull Salzburg in the Austrian city of Salzburg on Tuesday evening. The squad’s final pre-World Cup friendly will be against Red Bull Leipzig in Germany on Friday, with the delegation to fly out of Germany to Tychy on Sunday.

The Flying Eagles, seven –time champions of the African continent, have finished as runners-up at the FIFA World Cup on two occasions – 1989 and 1995 – and took the bronze medals in the former Soviet Union 34 years ago.

Nigeria’s last appearance at the FIFA U20 World Cup was in New Zealand four years ago, where Coach Manu Garba’s wards were eliminated in the Round of 16 by Germany in Christchurch.

The Flying Eagles play Qatar, the United States of America and Ukraine in that order at the championship in Poland, with their first game against Qatar in Tychy on 24th May. 

Nigeria squad:

Goalkeepers: Detan Ogundare (Kogi United), Olawale Oremade (Kwara United), Jonathan Zaccala (Triestina FC, Italy)

Defenders: Valentine Ozornwafor (Enyimba FC), Aliu Salawudeen (Amuneke Academy), Igoh Ogbu (Rosenborg BK, Norway), Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba FC), Muhammad Rabiu (Plateau United), Jamil Muhammad (Kano Pillars)

Midfielders: Nnamdi Ofoborh (Bournemouth, England), Eletu Peter (Prince Kazeem FC), Ayotomiwa Dele-Bashiru (Manchester City, England), Kingsley Michael (Perugia, Italy), Effiom Maxwell (Enyimba FC), Aniekeme Okon (Akwa United), Collins Sor (Oasis FC)

Forwards: Jerome Adams (Sogndal IL, Norway), Tijani Muhammed (FC Banik Ostrava, Czech Republic), Henry Offia (IK Sirius Uppsala, Sweden), Chinonso Emeka (Club Brookhouse, England), Success Makanjuola (Water FC)