African Player: Moses, Salah, Mane shortlisted

Super Eagles attacker Victor Moses is still very much in the running for the African Footballer of the Year award following the release of the names of 11 players that survived the latest cut by CAF.

Moses is facing stiff challenge from Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Naby Keita (RB Leipzig), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund) and Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool) .

Nigeria U23 international Junior Ajayi and nine other players are still in contention for Player of the Year (Based in Africa).

CAF has also announced the nominees for the other categories. The categories include Women’s Player of the Year, National Team of the Year (Men & Women), Youth Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Club of the Year and Referee of the Year.

Eagles of Nigeria have been nominated for the national team of the year, with Cameroon, Egypt, Zambia U20 and Mali U17, while Nigeria Women’s U20 team, the Falconets, and are in the running for Women’s National Team of the Year.

Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr is in the running for Coach of the Year.

The winners of the awards will be announced at on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in an awards night billed for Accra, Ghana.


All Nominees

African Player of the Year

  1. Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Olympique Lyon)
  2. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  3. Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco & Feyenoord)
  4. Keita Balde (Senegal & Monaco)
  5. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  6. Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)
  7. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & B. Dortmund)
  8. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
  9. Victor Moses (Nigeria & Chelsea)
  10. Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon & Porto)
  11. Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)


Player of the Year (Based in Africa)

  1. Achraf Bencharki (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
  2. Ahmed Fathi (Egypt & Al Ahly)
  3. Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)
  4. Aristide Bance (Burkina Faso & El Masry)
  5. Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
  6. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  7. Jeremy Brockie (New Zealand & Supersport)
  8. Junior Ajayi (Nigeria & Al Ahly)
  9. Mohamed Ounnajem (Morooco & Wydad Athletic Club)
  10. Taha Yassine Khenisssi (Tunisia & Esperance)

Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)

Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & Rossyanka)

Rutendo Makore (Zimbabwe & Black Rhinos)

Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Kvarnsvedens)

Women’s National Team of the Year

Ghana U-20


Nigeria U-20

South Africa



Coach of the Year

Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

Hector Cuper (Egypt)

Hugo Broos (Cameroon)

L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)

Mihayo Kazembe (TP Mazembe)


National Team of the Year



Mali U-17


Zambia U-20


Club of the Year

Al Ahly

Mbabane Swallows

SuperSport United

TP Mazembe

Wydad Athletic Club


Youth Player of the Year

Eric Ayiah (Ghana & Charity Stars)

Krepin Diatta (Senegal &Sarpsborg)

Luther Singh (South Africa & Braga)

Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)

Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)


Referee of the Year

Bamlak Tessema (Ethiopia)

Ghead Grisha (Egypt)

Janny Sikazwe (Zambia)

Malang Diedhiou (Senegal)

Mehdi Abid Charef (Algeria)

Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)