Glo-CAF Awards: Mikel, Iheanacho Drop Out

The Confederation of African Football on Tuesday named the Top 5 nominees for the 2016 African Player of the Year and the 2016 African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) for the Glo-CAF Awards. The announcement was made in Cairo
The players were shortlisted from the original thirty players nominated for the African Player of the Year, and 25 players who made the list for the Player of the Year (Based in Africa) category. No Nigerian player made the shortened list. Nigerian players, Kelechi Iheanacho of Manchester City, Chelsea’s Mikel Obi and Ahmed Musa of Leicester City were in the top 30 list.
The new list has the reigning African Footballer of the Year and Borussia Dortmund attacker, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon. He is joined by Senegal and Liverpool midfielder, Sadio Mane, and Mohamed Salah of AS Roma and Egypt. The others are Algeria’s duo of Riyad Mahrez and Islam Slimani. Both players incidentally play for Leicester City of England.
In the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) category, the five top players are Dennis Onyango, Hlompho Kekana, Keegan Dolly and Khama Billiat from the 2016 African Champions League winning side, Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa. Rainford Kabala of T.P Mazembe and Zambia complete the list.