NBBF calls 40 boys and girls to camp ahead of FIBA Africa Zone 3 Championship

The Nigeria Basketball Federation (NBBF), has called up 22 U-16 boys and an equal number of U-16 girls to camp for the two junior national teams. This is ahead of the FIBA Africa Zone 3 Championship taking place in Accra from June 19 to 24.

The players were selected after the national trials in Abuja last month and in Lagos early this month.

The players who have started arriving at their Moshood Abiola Stadium camp will train for next ten days before the final roster to Ghana.

Head coach of the boys team, Humprey Fubara will be working with Anodona Zakaa  as his assistant while Sampson Shotimini will be leading the girls, Taiye Adeniyi will be his assistant.

The President of FIBA Africa Zone 3, Col. Sam Ahmedu (retd) says the winners in both categories advance to the Final Round of the 2023 FIBA Africa U-16 Championships slated for the cities of Monastir and Sousse in Tunisia from July 13th to 23rd.

The National Teams of Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Niger, Nigeria, Togo and host Ghana will field teams.

The 8th edition of FIBA U-16 African Championship will serve as a qualifier for the 2024 FIBA U17 World Championships.

The winner and the runners-up will punch their tickets for next year’s World Cup.

The boys list:

✓ Babatunde Abdulsamad

✓ Adielle Worship

✓ Lewis Uvwo 

✓ Unekwe  Ekene

✓ Nwabude Success

✓ Bolarinwa Oluwaseyi

✓ Ibrahim Ayomide

✓ Zuka Isah

✓ Egbujor Moses

✓ Iwundu Daniel

✓ Divine Okebe

✓ Abraham Sambo

✓ Madu Aminu Mohammed

✓ Ameh Emanuel

✓ Haruna Sale

✓ Joseph Killian J

✓ Clinton Nnadozien

✓ Ahmed Kachalla

✓ Delight Opara

✓ Edeh P.Emmanuel

✓ Augustine O.J

✓ Victor Moses Ebo 

This is the 22 girls called up:

✓ Iwuji Viviane Chiamaka

✓ Ayah Favour

✓ Olatunde Karimot Ajoke

✓ Kaine Uche Glory

✓ Abigail Isaac

✓ Iyamah Franca

✓ Eze Bright

✓ Tewogbade Mololuwa

✓ Samuel Gbemisola

✓ Nze Emmanuella

✓ Amarachi Umeh

✓ Jamila Abubakar

✓ Sunny James Esther

✓ Judith Joshua Auta

✓ Khadija Shehu Garba.

✓ Ogochukwu Okeke.

✓ Shehu Salamatu Garba

✓ Benjamin Awajeh Beauty

✓ Zainab Yakubu Usman.

✓ Benjamin Awazi Beauty

✓ Adebowale Faithia Adebomi

✓ Favour Henry Essien