Otis lists Akhator, Kalu in 2020 pre-Olympics squad

D’Tigress Coach, Otis Hughley has announced a 12-man roster for the 2020 pre-Olympics qualifiers coming up in Mozambique between November 14 and 17, Extrasportsnigeria.com reports.

Otis has recalled United States of America based Upe Atosu, whose last game for Nigeria was at the 2017 Afrobasket final win over Senegal.

The 2019 Afrobasket Most Valuable Player Ezinne Kalu, Promise Anumakara, Atonye Nyingifa, Sarah Imovbioh and Evelyn Akhator have also been included in the 12-man list alongside team captain, Adaora Elonu.

Others include multiple Afrobasket winner Aisha Balarabe, Ify Ibekwe whose first international debut was at the 2019 Afrobasket in Senegal as well as Victoria Macaulay.

Elizabeth Balogun who was named in the 2019 Atlantic Coast Conference Fresh Man Team while with Georgia Tech University is also on line to earn her first international cap alongside Pallas Kunnayi-Akpannah who narrowly missed the 2019 Afrobasket party.

Nigeria is grouped alongside hosts Mozambique and DR Congo in Group A while Senegal will compete against Angola and Mali in Group B. Nigeria will open camp on November 10 in Maputo

According to FIBA, the two group winners will join 14 other teams from Europe, Asia and the Americas to fight for the 10 Olympic slots on offer at the Olympic Qualifying Tournament.