Patience Dalyop wins Lagos Women Run 2020

Pius Ayinor

Patience Dalyop this morning won the 2020 edition of the Lagos Women Run.

The Plateau State entrant led the run from the start at Tafawa Balewa Square, Lagos Island to the finish point at the Teslim Balogun Stadium in the Surulere area. She completed the race at a time of 33 minutes 43.73 seconds.

Patience who said she trained all year long in Jos for the event was rewarded with the sum of N1million for her effort.

Awawu Haruna finished second place at a time of 34 minutes 02. 24 seconds. Abiye David finished third place at a time 34 minutes 16.39 seconds.

Second placed Awawu Haruna got N500,000 while Abiye got N300,000 .

Winners in the Elite Open category were presented their cash prizes by the Lagos Commissioner for Sports, Segun Dawodu.

As in the past years the race featured the open and veteran categories.

In the Veteran category, Lagos State athlete, Anna Seriki, emerged the winner after crossing the finish line at 45 minutes 47.11 seconds. In second place was Plateau state athlete Ladi Henry, she ran 46 minutes 16.90 seconds. While Kareem Bolanle finished third place at 46 minutes 40.74 seconds.

Seriki, Ladi and Kareem got N300,000; N200,000 and N100,000 respectively.

The presentation of cash prizes to the Veteran category winners was done by the Chairman, Lagos State Sports Commission, Sola Aiyepeku.

The beauty of this year’s edition was the addition the virtual run. Many runners took advantage of from their locations, like these lovely ladies who participated all the way in Abuja using the event app including the wife of the Lagos State Governor Lady Jide Sanwo-Olu.

Mary Adegoke Oluwabukola became a champion also because of her pregnancy.

Although 6 months pregnant, she had a seamless race from the start of the 10km race to the finish line.

For the 2020 edition of the Lagos Women Run, all the Covid-19 protocols approved by the Lagos Government were followed strictly