Pinnick glad to see 4th Nigeria Pitch Awards


President of the Nigeria Football Federation, Amaju Melvin Pinnick has demanded from the organizers of the Nigeria Pitch Awards to ensure a seamless fourth edition of the event, which comes up in Uyo on Saturday.

Speaking in Abuja on Tuesday, the CAF Executive Committee member and President of the Organizing Committee for the Africa Cup of Nations insisted the NFF has continued to back the Pitch Awards because the leadership is enamoured by its transparency, credibility and integrity in the four years of the event.

“The Nigeria Football Federation is satisfied with the processes that the organizers bring into play for selection of voters, nomination, collation and eventual declaration of the winners. We urge the organizers to retain those processes for the good of the Awards.

“Awards serve a special purpose for professionals; they motivate in a way that we can hardly imagine.”

Organizers of the Awards, Matchmakers Consult International Limited, confirmed to on Tuesday that Akwa Ibom State Governor Udom Emmanuel, who is nominated for Football Friendly Governor of the Year alongside Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos and Ezenwo Nyesom Wike of Rivers, will attend Saturday night’s programme, scheduled to begin at 8pm at the Nwaniba Hall of the Le Meridien Hotel and Golf Resort.

The nominees for the 4th Nigeria Pitch Awards were made known last month, after SIAO Partners Limited, the collating and verification firm, released the results to the Nigeria Football Federation.

In a letter to the NFF President, signed by SIAO’s Managing Partner, Ituah Ighodalo, the auditing firm explained that the voting was done by Nigeria sports editors/managers across the 36 States of the Federation and the FCT.

The nominees

Goalkeeper of the Year: Vincent Enyeama; Carl Ikeme; Ikechukwu Ezenwa

Defender of the Year: Leon Balogun; Kenneth Omeruo; William Ekong

Midfielder of the Year: John Mikel Obi; Etebo Oghenekaro; Wilfred Ndidi

Striker of the Year: Chisom Egbuchulam; Godwin Obaje; Kelechi Iheanacho

MVP (Men) In The NPFL: Godwin Obaje; Stephen Odey; Chisom Egbuchulam

MVP (Women) In The NWPL: Osinachi Ohale; Rafiat Sule; Chioma Wogu

Queen of the Pitch: Desire Oparanozie; Onome Ebi; Asisat Oshoala

King of the Pitch: Victor Moses; John Mikel Obi; Kelechi Iheanacho

Sam Okwaraji Award: Dr. Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah; Samson Siasia; John Mikel Obi

Club/Team of the Year: Super Falcons; Dream Team; Enugu Rangers

Coach of the Year: Florence Omagbemi; Gernot Rohr; Imama Amapakabo

Referee of the Year: Adebimpe Quadri; Jelili Ogunmuyiwa; Ferdinand Udoh

Corporate Sponsor of the Year: Globacom Limited; SuperSport; Nigeria Breweries PLC

State with Best Grassroots Football Development Program: Delta State; Lagos State; Akwa Ibom State

Football Friendly Governor of the Year: Nyesom Wike (Rivers); Udom Emmanuel (Akwa Ibom); Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos)

Football Journalist of the Year (Radio): Bimbo Adeola; Olawale Adigun; Arafat Aliu

Football Journalist of the Year (Print): Tobi Emmanuel; Tana Aiyejina; Ade Ojeikere

Football Journalist of the Year (TV): Mozez Praiz (SuperSport); Austin Okon-Akpan (Channels TV); Toyin Ibitoye (Channels TV)